Look At Their Heart

1 Samuel 16:7 The Lord does not see what man sees.  While man looks at the outward appearance, the Lord looks at the heart.  Teaching is personal.  It has been a month since I have posted because I have been busy.  Teaching is tireless and endless.  We get the best gift a parent can give us, their child, and we are trusted to move them forward in their path on life.  There are standards and tests and demands and legislation and lack of funds and struggles and it often seems our energy is depleted on meaningless, trivial things.

I spent Thanksgiving break reflecting.  I am proud of my students.  They have grown so much this year in their communication and problem solving.  I have a needy dependent student who problems solves and tries new things on her own with prompting.  I have a shy quiet student who speaks up and shares ideas and thoughts.  I have a by the rules student who shocked me with a witty comment and made me laugh out loud at reading group.  I have an anxious child who asks for help when confused or stuck.  There is so much growth.  And all of these things are reflections of the people my children are becoming.  They are reflections of their hearts.

Teaching goes beyond the paperwork and hoop jumping into our children.  Reflect this Holiday season and LOVE your children.  Tell them each why they are important to you.  Leave them a note to tell them an amazing thing you have seen them do.  Model kindness and gratitude and watch that spread.  Look at their heart.

Leave a Reply

